Cleanse Day 2: Bircher-Style Museli, Salmon Tartare, and Fasting

The trouble with day two really started last night. I had the hardest time sleeping because of how hungry I was. My stomach just hurt throughout the night, and occasionally it would wake me up.  By the time I woke up this morning I was exhausted and I also felt really out of it. Like I had a head cold – that fuzz where it seems like there is a difference between you and your body.

Breakfast definitely saved me, because I felt so much better after it, but about 11:00 I got a headache that just hasn’t gone away.  I also have been shaky, which is less than fun.  I am hoping this is the part where my body is riding itself of toxins, and the headache and the shaking is part of that.  The thing is, I fast every year on Rosh Hashanah, so I have eaten far less in over 24 hours before. Yes, I get hungry. But I’ve not had this response.  So maybe this is different? Maybe its cleansing?  God I hope so because I am hungry.

Here is what I ate from Gut Gastronomy:

BREAKFAST: Winter Bircher-Style Muesli

Winter_Bircher_Muesli.jpg

Most of it was done overnight, and soaking oats means you just mix oats, nuts, yogurt, fruit and cinnamon together to make this in the morning. A similar recipe is here which looks easier, but it wasn’t part of the cleanse.

Verdict:  I was hungry enough that I would eat anything, but this was nice. I prefer oatmeal warm, but that is just me.  Otherwise, its really nice. The fruit was good, the yogurt was refreshing, and who doesn’t like oatmeal?  It’s a great Idea to do if you have to get up really early and don’t have the energy for proper oatmeal.  Weirdly, though, I thought the chia muesli was more flavourful.  I will probably end up trying this with cooked oats to keep it warm, but I will cook the oats in water to keep consistent with this recipe.

LUNCH: Salmon Tartar (again)

You really can’t leave raw fish uneaten any longer than this, so it had to be done!  It actually still tasted lovely. I am definitely having this again, I just wish there was more of it. Like, a lot more.

DINNER: Beef Broth (Fasting)

So tonight and breakfast tomorrow I am “Fasting” which means broth tonight and tea tomorrow morning.  I can’t even tell you how it tastes I was just so hungry I swallowed it whole.

Verdict: “Hangry” is a term for when you are hungry and it makes you angry… what’s the term for hunger-enduced moping?

PREP: Marinated Chicken Breast with Paprika, Rosemary & Lemon

This recipe is tomorrow’s dinner and requires marinating for at least 4 hours, or overnight… overnight it is! It is not helping distract from the cravings, so maybe do this while eating broth?

The marinade is paprika, garlic, lemon, rosemary, dates, salt, pepper and water.

Leave a comment