Cleanse Day 1: Chia Museli, Salmon Tartare and Baked Eggs

First day of the cleanse, and I am hungry.  Of course I am, right? I had less than 1100 calories today.  But I am not starving, which is something.  By far the worst was between breakfast and lunch.  I have a pretty scheduled day on work days – breakfast at 6:30am, lunch at 2:00pm. Usually I have a snack in between but I’m not allowed to on this cleanse, so I really felt the hunger.  I am hoping tomorrow’s breakfast will be much more filling.

That being said, I really thought the first day would be much worse.  I’m hungry, but not starving and desperate to eat anything I can see. I managed to resist the chocolate truffles that someone brought for the employee break room, AND my energy was fine.  I didn’t feel tired or exhausted the way I can do when I am hungry, I was just hungry.  I’m impressed with how much energy I have, actually. Maybe this is the feeling of being healthy?  Or insanity? Either one is possible, right 🙂  Seriously, though, I think its a really good sign.

The food is also good.  Don’t get me wrong, chia is a little weird, but the flavour was all from the fruit, which was great.  The salmon tartare I would eat any day, and the baked eggs were hearty and yummy and warm. All the food was good, and edible.  I feel pretty luck, actually.

I also have to say, I like that one can have Ginger Tea on this cleanse.  I don’t drink soda or anything like that, but I do like my tea.  And when you drink mostly water, its nice to have a little flavour in your drink. Especially as the salmon tartare went really well with ginger.

 

Here is what I ate from Gut Gastronomy:

BREAKFAST: Chia Museli

Chia_Museli

The original recipe can be found on Living North online here.   I adapted it by leaving the chia overnight.  But then when I woke up, it looked really runny so I panicked and added a bunch more and let it rest for five minutes, as the recipe suggests.   Once I actually ate it, though, I really didn’t need to add the extra chia, it was fine on its own.

Verdict:  Leave the chia overnight!  This was my first foray into Chia seeds and it made for a gelation-like consistency that soaked up all the honey and fruit flavour and was really really nice.  It was also really filling, I ate all the fruit and most of it, but had some left over.   I was really surprised how good it was, and you can do it with any kind of fruit you like, so its sort-of like having a new option to replace oatmeal.  As someone who loves “Bubble-Tea” it has that kind of consistency and I like it.  I can see that not everyone will, but I am really impressed.   That being said, I was really really hungry 2 hours later, and it soured my experience.  I’m hoping tomorrow’s breakfast is longer-lasting.

LUNCH: Asian-style Salmon TarTar 

Asian_Salmon_Tartare

I was genuinely worried because I had to prep this yesterday, and fresh fish just sitting around… sounds like I would be ill… right?  It was just salmon, cucumber, spring onions, ginger, chilli, fish sauce, coriander and lemon (the original calls for lime, but I like lemon), but raw ingredients are tricky. In the morning, packing my lunch, I got even more worried because the lemon had drawn out some liquid in the cucumber and it looked a bit gross.  I drained it a bit and packed it up with chia crackers (not the ones from Gut Gastronomy

Verdict: I am not sure why I was so panicked, because it was lovely! Honestly, this is a great recipe, even if you aren’t on a cleanse, or any kind of diet.  The tartare is fresh and light and really shows off the salmon, not getting lost in anything else.  I loved it, I wish I had more of it… but I loved it. 

DINNER: Baked Eggs

This is two servings
                       This is two servings – one will be lunch later on

 

This is the recipe I changed the most.  The original called for chorizo, which I thought was odd because the book tells you, very clearly, not to have processed foods, and chorizo is highly processed. I love chorizo, so this sucked. I will absolutely make it with the chorizo. I kept most of the recipe the same, but to add the flavours of chorizo without the meat, I added garlic, paprika and chilli powder:

Eggs Baked in Tomato Sauce

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (organic)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Preheat the oven to 325F

Roast green pepper in the oven for 20 minutes. The skin will have patches that look browned or burnt (do not turn off the oven!)

Chop pepper, onion and garlic

In a large pan, fry onion and garlic in a pan over low heat with olive oil

Reduce heat and add the tomatoes, paprika, chilli, green pepper and salt .

Cook until thickens into a sauce.  If you can, puree it in a blender. I prefer the smoother consistency.

Take off the heat.

Make 2 small indentations and add the eggs.

Bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

Serve warm.  If you, like me, will be having some for breakfast, transfer into a bowl to microwave.

Verdict:  Honestly, this is a fine dish, but the chorizo would have made it so much better. I know I had to remove it, but it made a big difference.   Also, I should have pureed it to make the tomato sauce more smooth. It goes better with the eggs in a smooth sauce.  That being said, it is a nice meal and I might come back to it for a Brunch (with the added chorizo).  

 

PREP: Winter Bircher-Style Museli

You have to soak the oats and nuts in water overnight in the fridge to make the muesli. I also cooked the fruit ahead of time (just simmer in water, orange juice and ginger) to save me time tomorrow. All I will need to do tomorrow is mix fruit with oats, yoghurt and cinnamon.

 

Leave a Reply

