“BLAT” Salad

Bacon-Lettuce-Avocado-Tomato-Salad&"

You always hear that salads are boring, but, honestly, salads are mostly – at least over 50% – versions of other food with extra lettuce. Look at the Cobb salad or the Caesar salad. Someone took food they liked already and added lettuce. if you have a favourite dish, Thame the ingredients and add lettuce (or more lettuce as the case may be).

Chicken Teriyaki? Add spinach.  Love Chicken Parmesan? Add kale, replace tomato sauce with ripe tomatoes and leave the Mozarella un-melted. Obviously these are just suggestions, but you get the gist.  So “making up” salads for dinner is actually easier than you think?

Take last night, my husband and I made two salads, he made a nice Thai one and I made this – BLAT, bacon, lettuce, avocado and tomato salad.  When I was a kid, BLT was my favourite sandwich. I ordered it all the time. my family would go to the diner off the 501 and I would order BLT on white no mayo with fries. I made mom make it for me for school lunch. I didn’t get it everyday, but I always asked. I have never actually tried a BLAT, but we had some leftover avocado and I thought – why not? Turned out really lovely, and my husband liked it too. I have to try the sandwich now and relive a slightly healthier childhood 🙂

Bacon Lettuce Avocado and Tomato (BLAT) Salad

Serves 2

– 1 small head of butterhead lettuce

– 4 strips bacon

– 1/2 avocado

– 1/2 medium tomato

– 1 tbsp olive oil

– 1 tsp lemon juice

– pinch of salt

Cook the bacon in a frying pan or in the oven as you usually would.

Chop tomato and avocado into bite size pieces

Tear the lettuce or chop as you prefer

In a small bowl of cup mil olive oil, salt and lemon and whisk with a fork until slightly thick

Combine all and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

