Eggplant with Tarragon and Feta Dressing

Eggplant_with_Tarragon_and_feta

I only lived in London for seven years, but I still say Aubergine when I mean Eggplant.  I am sure it has something to do with learning French as a child (the word is auberge) and probably the fact that I never thought they looked like eggs. But I do love eating them.  But eggplant is not a vegetable that can come to the party alone. Unlike Peppers or Broccoli or zucchini it needs something to add some flavour and excitement.  My solution to most things is to cover it in cheese, and in this case also a really lovely tarragon sauce.

The tarragon was an improvisation. I was originally making a cumin dressing for the eggplant, and, having only just arrived did not have cumin.  My aunt, who was letting me borrow her kitchen, also didn’t have any cumin.  After making fun of her for that I went through the spice drawer and stumbled on tarragon. The key wonder of this recipe is the lemon and feta and both go well with tarragon, so I thought “Why not?”  The answer is: Please do!

Oh, and one final thought:

Eggplant is amazing on the grill, but I do not have one, so I have to make do with frying eggplant in a pan. And let me tell you, eggplant takes a lot of oil.  I’ve tried a lot of things to get it less oily when you fry it, and egg whites helps the most, but let me know if you have any tips or tricks I should try out. Maybe have an eggplant party 😉

Eggplant with Tarragon and Feta Dressing (Serves 6 as a side)

  • 2 medium Eggplants
  • 1/2 cup feta
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 shallot
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 6 tbsp olive oil (3 for the dressing, 3 for the eggplant)
  • 1 tsp tarragon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp chopped mint

First, make the dressing:Finely chop shallot and garlic, combine with 3 tbsp olive oil, tarragon and lemon juice

Slice the eggplant into 1/2 inch rounds.

Heat 3 tbsp oil in a frying pan to medium-high heat.

Cook the eggplant for 3-5 minutes on each side until browned. Add more oil if needed

Top warm eggplant with feta and mint, then drizzle on the dressing

Serve warm and happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

