Rhubarb and Strawberry Crumble

Rhubarb is my husband’s favourite fruit (vegetable? I think its a fruit?)  He isn’t one for sweets but if I make him a rhubarb crumble or even just potted rhubarb with custard he is a very happy man.  As I was wandering through the store there was a bunch of fresh British Rhubarb from just down the road in Kent, and a lightbulb went off!  I was so excited I bought it, and as fate would have it I was just visiting a friend who was telling me she had some wild strawberries in her garden – so who was I to argue?  Rhubarb and strawberry Crumble it would be!

Rhubarb-and-Strawberry
Lovely fresh rhubarb and strawberries – don’t be afraid of green rhubarb it’s more tart, but lovely!

It is  avery simple recipe, you just chop up some rhubarb and strawberries and toss in about 1/4 cup of icing sugar (I did it by eye).  You have to toss it until there is no more white from the icing sugar. This is how you know the fruit absorbed it:

Rhubarb-Strawberry-Crumble-Prep
Rhubarb and Strawberry sugared and ready for the crumble

I then added some Raspberry liquor, but it is hardly necessary, just a fun addition! Then you just top it with the crumble mix.  The big thing here is that it shouldn’t be too much crumble or it just tastes like rhubarb oatmeal. Try to do about 1:2 crumble to fruit.  You bake it for 45 minutes so it goes all soft and lovely and then you can eat it warm with ice-cream (Which I prefer) or vanilla custard, which my husband loves:

Rhubarb_Crumble_With_Custard

Rhubarb and Strawberry Crumble

  • 500g rhubarb (It was about 6 stalks)
  • 1/4 cup icing sugar
  • dash of raspberry liquor
  • 1/3 cup wole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 85g butter (soft)
  • 50g brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350F (180C)

Chop the rhubarb and strawberries and toss with icing sugar and raspberry liquor.

Place in the bottom of a baking dish

In a small bowl, mix together the softened butter, flour, oats and sugar until crumbly

Scatter evenly over the top of the fruit

Bake for 45 minutes or until the fruit begins to bubble.

Serve with custard, ice-cream or on its own!

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb and Strawberry Crumble

  1. I love that this is your husband’s favorite fruit/vegetable, it’s not a very common one! I tried a rhubarb crumble for the first time recently and was surprised at how much I loved it. I will definitely have to give this a try, the addition of the strawberries sounds delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

