“Lace” Peppermint Brownies

Peppermint-Brownies

I went to a very small university in the mountains of Virginia, and as part of the Theatre Department I got to experience 3 or 4 opening night parties every year.  We would finish our production, change out of costumes, take off the makeup and head up to the main lobby where there was always this amazing punch, usually some snacks and dessert, and always mint layered brownies.  I fell in love with them right then and there – soft, moist chocolate brownies that anyone would devour on their own, with a layer of cool peppermint.  Who wouldn’t love that?

I call them “lace” brownies because instead of doing a layer of melted chocolate to sandwich the peppermint, I do a little chocolate-drawing that looks vaguely like lace (use your imagination, people… believe in me).  But you are welcome to use the melted chocolate to make a solid layer.

These are the attempt to recreate the wonderful brownies of my university, and my brownies are a bit thicker, but otherwise its the same amazing mix of sweet and mint and rich chocolate!  I just shared them with a bunch of friends and I think they make a great group dessert because who doesn’t love mint chocolate?!

Give them a try, if you want, you can change the flavouring to make your own fun flavour layers – just tell me about them! I want to know 🙂

“Lace” Peppermint Brownies

Brownie Base

  • 4 oz unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 stick of butter (115 g) (to make healthier, I recommend 80g Coconut oil)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup plain flour (healthier, you can directly replace with wheat flour)

Preheat oven to 180C (350F)

Butter and line a bakign dish, I used an 8″ circular pan

Melt chocolate and butter in a double boiler (I use a metal bowl on top of a medium saucepan half filled with boiling water)

In the meantime, bear together eggs and sugar.

Add the melted chocolate, and stir ’til smooth

Add remaining ingredients and stir til smooth

pour into pan and cook for 25 minutes

Let cool completely in the pan (I put in the fridge for 30 minutes)

—–

Peppermint Layer

  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 3 drops peppermint extract

Mix all together, completely and spread on the chilled brownies.  Chill a further 5 minutes.

—-

Chocolate “Lace”

  • 5 squares milk or dark chocolate

Break up individual squares and place in a microwave safe bowl

Microwave for 10 seconds or until half melted.

Using a fork, mix the chocolate until smooth

submerge the fork and hold about 3 inches above the brownies.

Swirl and make patterns with the fork to send chocolate lines on the surface

Eat once completely cooled.  You can do this at room temperature if you are more patient than I am 🙂

7 thoughts on ““Lace” Peppermint Brownies

  1. This looks divine! And you have such a great blog, I love how several of your recipes are ones that have been passed down from your family. I hope my daughter will do the same with my recipes one of these days 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

