My Mother’s (Famous) Crab and Artichoke Dip

Crab-and-artichoke-dip A lot of people have a “famous” family recipe or two, the whole family knows it, your friends know it.  I never really called a recipe famous until I started meeting people (friends of friends) who wlild say “Oh! I’ve heard about your crab dip!” If the recipe preceded me, I figured the crab and artichoke dip deserved the “famous” title.

It is my mother’s recipe, to be fair, and it is the kind of thing you only cook every now and then. Because it is one of those recipes where never has anything left over. Even when you make enough for double the guests. Every year my mum’s crab and artichoke dip gets introduced to someone new, and when they try it, they do not leave the immediate dipping area. Once you know, you look forward to eating it, even if it does break any diet you did in the past ten years 🙂 As one of my friends said, it’s a good thing I made it after lent this year!

Crab and artichoke dip

  • 2 (8oz) packets of cream cheese
  • 1 1/4 cups sour cream
  • 12 artichoke heart segments (from a jar of artichoke hearts in oil)
  • 2 small tins white crabmeat
  • 1 cup (6oz) cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • dash of paprika
  • dash of garlic powder

Chop artichokes to bite size pieces and grate cheeses Mix all the ingredients in the bowl or pan you will use to cook it in. You can refrigerate overnight, or preheat oven to 400 F (200 C) Bake for 30 minutes until surface bubbles

One thought on “My Mother’s (Famous) Crab and Artichoke Dip

Leave a Reply

