Tangy no-Mayo Coleslaw

Tangy-mustard-coleslaw

As a Southern Girl I have to admit something disappointing to you now.  I don’t like mayonnaise.

I know! It’s just egg and oil but I really don’t like it.  So for ages, I would not touch coleslaw with a ten-foot pole. And then I heard about “vinegar Cole slaw” and my eyes were opened.  I’m from North Carolina, which is the home of vinegar-based BBQ pork. So vinegar with barbecue is not something new or strange, in fact it seemed completely natural. But I wasn’t going to settle for just any vinegar coleslaw. I wanted something I would eat, and eat with anything.

So I give you my no-Mayo coleslaw. It is very tangy, but goes amazing with pulled pork, on its own, or with steak. One of my good friends Judith is desperate for the recipe, so here it is! (Love ya Judith!)

My Tangy Mustard Coleslaw (serves 4-6)

  • 1 head of white cabbage
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 red onions
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup whole grain mustard
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Tsp salt
  • tsp pepper

shred cabbage

slice carrots thin or julienned if you are so talented

slice red onion to thin strips

combine all vegetables in a large bowl, set aside

in a small bowl combine oil, vinegar, mustard, salt, pepper and honey with a whisk

pour over veggies and stir until coated

Leave a Reply

