Haggis Mac and Cheese

Haggis-Mac-and-Cheese

So I am posting this in conjunction with BTX #favoriterecipe which is Pasta this week! It is a complete experiment and turned out amazing, but draws on my favourite mac and cheese recipe which relies on using two kinds of pasta – fusilli and macaroni Macaroni and Fussily both hold the cheese (and haggis) really well. Macaroni gives you pockets of cheese inside and the fusilli traps it in a spiral.  It’s a good pasta combo 😉

My husband and I are moving back to the States over the summer and it has made me want to eat a lot of my favourite british foods.  One is haggis.  Before my American friends go “eww”, if you have ever eaten a hot dog, you have eaten a less-flavourful haggis.   Haggis is actually really amazing comfort food.  It’s warm and rich and meaty with tons of spices to make it really flavourful.  I had some last night and I’m using the extra to make myself a rich treat – Haggis Mac and Cheese.

The great thing about this recipe is that if you don’t like haggis, you can still make a perfectly good mac and cheese in one saucepan and eat that, or add in anything else you like – bacon, broccoli, whatever you like.

I hope my friends in the UK give it a try, it is so deliciously addicting. Definitely not something you can eat every day though, it is rich 🙂

Haggis Mac and Cheese

  • 2 cups Pasta (I mixed fusilli and macaroni)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 15g butter
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/2 cup cooked haggis (if you are not using left-over haggis I recommend cooking in the mocrowave for speed)

In a saucepan combine pasta, milk, butter, nutmeg and mustard powder.

On low heat bring the saucepan to a simmer, while stirring occasionally to ensure pasta does not clump or stick to the pan

Once it is at a simmer, turn low and let simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring regularly.  The milk will thicken up. If it starts to look like a sauce, take it off the heat and add a dash more milk, this happened because your hob gets hotter than mine.

Add cheese and haggis, stirring to thoroughly mix.

Remove from heat and enjoy while its warm and creamy! 🙂

One thought on “Haggis Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

