Clean Marmite Pasta

Clean-Marmite-Pasta

Sorry Nigella Lawson, I have made a butter-less version of your very famous kid’s favourite: Marmite Pasta (click for original Nigella recipe)

I am the first to extoll the virtues of butter. The secret to life is butter. But, we are eating clean at the minute, so I had to find a way to make it taste the same (for my husband) and be healthier.   Marmite is a British staple and it has the slogan “Love it or Hate it” because, honestly, that is everyone’s reaction to it.  I hate it.  My husband loves it.  And every now and then he asks me to make it.  Marmite is very savoury and yeasty so if you like those flavours you should give it a try (in small doses), and if you are trying to eat healthier, give this recipe a try.  I replaced butter with oil, which really just acts to liquify and smooth out the marmite flavour and consistency.  For the salty richness of butter I’ve added some parmesan cheese.  My husband says it tastes the same!

Clean Marmite Pasta

  • 150g Whole Wheat spaghetti or linguini
  • 3 tsp marmite
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
    •  you can also use rapeseed oil
  • parmesan to top

Boil water in a saucepan  and add whole wheat pasta

Turn water to a simmer, and cook for 12 minutes

In a small cup or bowl mix together olive oil and marmite until smooth.

Once pasta is cooked, strain and then coat in a bowl with the marmite mixture

Serve with freshly grated parmesan.

Easy, simple, and for some reason, my husband loves it…

Leave a Reply

