Egg-less Avgolemono Soup

Avgolemono

You already know that greek food is a big part of my life (or you should read my recipe for Clean Turkey Meatballs). I used to love Avgolemono (which literally translates to Egg-lemon) is a lemon chicken soup.  It is, I will not lie to you, amazing.  I loved it so much I ate it every Sunday for a month when I was 15.

I was sharing this amazing soup with a friend of mine who has an egg allergy and I thought “oh no! But he has to try it!”  So I went to the kitchen.

The egg in avgolemono thickens the soup to make it creamy but without cream, so the simplest switch would be to add cream.  This does change the taste, and makes it less healthy. It also wouldn’t work for my friend who doesn’t eat dairy. What I ended up doing was thickening the soup with risotto rice.  This way you get the right texture, it remains very tart and lemon-y but you have the thickness and smoothness of avgolemono.

Try it anyway, it tastes amazing!

Egg-less Avgolemono (serves 3-4)

  • 2 pints chicken stock (I make my own, but try a low-sodium one because it will enhance the lemon flavour too much)
  • 1 cup risotto rice
  • cooked chicken breast (or dice some chicken breast and cook it in a frying pan for 4 minutes on each side)
  • juice of 1 1/2 lemons

Combine everything in a saucepan and simmer on a low heat for 2 hours

OR

Combine everything in a slow cooker on low for 4 hours

Leave a Reply

