Mum’s (Clean) Lemon Roast Chicken

Lemon-Roast-Chicken

I love having my mother’s recipe book with me, and I know I have told you this before.  Unfortunately, not many of her recipes are “clean” eating, although quite a few of them are.  But all of them are fairly easy to adapt.

I was definitely in the mood for roast chicken, so I went to mum’s recipe cook for a classic: “Lemony Roast Chicken” written in her big round handwriting.  The only adjustment I needed to make was substituting in oil for butter.  And this is, believe it or not, the most moist chicken you will ever have.  Honestly!  You need to have a towel under the cutting board because it just drips as you cut it.

*I do have a quick tip!*  You have to brown the chicken in a frying pan before it goes in the oven, and I find that if you have a pair of barbecue tongs, you can use them to turn the chicken by clamping the cavity of the chicken.

So here is a family favourite (slightly adjusted to be clean):

Mums-Lemony-Roast-Chicken

Mum’s Lemon Roast Chicken (serves 4)

  • 1 medium whole chicken
  • 1 lemon, cut in half
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup boiling water

Preheat the oven to 360F (180C)

Rub the chicken with one half of the lemon

Juice both halves and set aside

Combine salt and oregano

Rub the inside of the chicken (cavity) with the salt and oregano

Put 2 tbsp oil in a large frying pan, and heat to medium heat

In the frying pan, brown the chicken on all sides (3-4 minutes each side)

Remove the chicken from the frying pan and place in an oven safe casserole dish or roasting pan

Pour water and lemon juice in the frying pan, on low heat

Using a spatula, scrape up the roasted bits of chicken in the pan and let the lemon/water/oil simmer for 2 minutes

Cover the chicken in the lemon liquid

Put in the oven and bake for 1 1/2 hours

Be sure to baste the chicken with the lemon juice regularly (I did it 4 times total)

I hope you enjoy this lemony, moist roast chicken. From my mum to you.

Leave a Reply

