Clean Eggplant Parmesan

Clean-Eggplant-Parmesean

I was running errands today when I came across some really lovely eggplants and I just had to make something with them… but I needed it to be really special, so I did this completely homemade clear eggplant parmesan.  There is no mozzarella and I made the sauce myself – which you really must try because it will change your dishes!  Using my Roast pepper and Tomato Sauce, putting this eggplant parmesan together is actually incredibly easy – you just pan fry the eggplant and layer it between sauce and parmesan cheese.  Simple and delicious.  Sure, it happens to be clean eating, but it really should be a staple recipe to have in your back pocket 😉

Clean Eggplant Parmesan For Two

  • 1 medium eggplant (aubergine for my UK friends)
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • Roast pepper and Tomato Sauce
    • 1 red pepper
    • 8 tomatoes
    • salt
    • pepper
    • olive oil
    • basil
    • garlic
  • olive oil

If you have not followed the link to make the sauce, you simply roast tomatoes and peppers at 400F (200C) for thirty minutes or so and blend with the other ingredients.

Preheat oven to 350F (170C)

Cut the eggplant into circles 1/2 inch thick

Heat a pan with oil to medium heat and cook eggplant slices for 3 minutes each side, until colour has changed

In a baking dish, layer tomato sauce, then 1/4 cup of parmesan, then eggplant, top with more sauce and parmesan.

Bake for 20-30 minutes until bubbling.

I hope you love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

