Turkey Meatballs with Tzatziki

Greek-Turkey-Meatballs

Growing up my family’s favourite restaurant was an amazing little Greek place in Durham called Spartacus.  It is a ‘secret local spot’ run by two friends who watched me grow up, I think  from the age of 9.  This restaurant I cannot recommend enough, the food is amazing and everyone is so friendly.  But right now I want to focus on the memories.  We went to Spartacus for any special occasion – if I won an award, if our grades were good, and I also went there for my prom night.  Partly because one of the owners, John, has met every boyfriend I have ever had… I’m not kidding! I even took my husband there when we went to meet my family the first time.

We saw it undergo two renovations, we celebrated one owner’s marriage and all the new babies.  It was an extension of my family.  I still go there when I go back home.  But in London none of the restaurants compares, so I end up making Greek food every now and then to remind me of home and to manage my craving to go to Spartacus.  I’m having one of those cravings today and since I am eating Clean, I am also trying to eat light.  So no lamb souvlaki for me 😦  But! It made me think of gyros.  And I remembered these incredible Turkey gyro meatballs my mum’s family makes.

So from my childhood to your dinner table,  I hope you enjoy these Turkey Meatballs with tart and fresh tzatziki.

Turkey Meatballs, serves 4

  • 400g ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup dill
  • 1 medium onion
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp oregano
  • zest 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 slice of whole wheat bread, toasted

Tzatziki, serves 4

  • 250g greek yogurt
  • juice 1 lemon
  • 1 small cucumber, diced
  • 2 clove garlic, chopped finely
  • 1 tbsp chopped mint
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

For the tzatziki, mix together all ingredients, with salt and pepper to taste.  Put in the fridge until ready to serve

For the meatballs: Preheat oven to 200C (400 F)

Blend bread slice in a blender to make crumbs.

Combine all ingredients, including bread crumbs, in a large bowl until evenly distributed.

Take 1 tbsp worth of meat and roll with your hands into small meatballs (should make about 20)

Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes until browned on the outside

Serve warm with the cool tzatziki.

One thought on “Turkey Meatballs with Tzatziki

Leave a Reply

