Clean Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

I was talking with my family the other day about my husband trying to lose weight.  While he has been slowly and steadily losing weight over the past several months, he has been really frustrated with how slowly it has been happening. They (very sweetly) suggested that the problem may be me.  I was really upset, but I thought about it.  Looking back over this blog I have been very honest about what I eat and while rarely eat something not made from scratch, that doesn’t mean it has always been diet-friendly.

My husband does not like sweets (at all… it’s very odd…) so while he tries what I bakes and gives me input, he never eats more than a taste of the sweet stuff.  So it is really the meals that would be unhelpful.  And if I am being honest, it is a mixed bag.  So I decided to see how much of an effect what I cooked him really had.  For the next four weeks this household will be eating Clean.

If you are interested in this experiment, please comment if you want any progress pictures/information/any other details.  Also, here are some questions answered.  If you want the recipe, skip down to the bold bit 😉

Why did I pick Eating Clean as a diet? 

To be honest, I am not a fan of dieting or diets, whereas eating clean is just a small series of substitutes.  It makes for only very few changes in the ingredients and flavours I love but it is much healthier.  Which brings me to the second point- it is healthy.  Growing up, we learned about the food pyramid and most “diets” today throw the food pyramid out.  But to be healthy you need the pyramid- you actually should be eating carbs.  Just healthy ones.  So Clean Eating is a way for us to definitely be healthier.

Finally, it is something that is actually very easy to do.  Some of the recipes on this blog are already clean eating (Orange Chipotle Chicken Salad, Hot and Sour Soup, Homemade Tomato Soup, Roast Butternut Squash and Turnips, Hearty Winter Vegetable Soup, and my Tuna with Ponzu Dipping Sauce)  and we just like them anyway.  So it will be an easy change to stick to.

What’s going to happen?

In order to be supportive I am going to eat clean along with my husband for the next 28 days and we will see how much of an effect it really has.  I already do yoga, and am encouraging my husband to join me in that as well, so some of his changes will be down to that increased activity. However, my routine won’t change at all, so the actual question of how much impact eating clean 100% of the time will be more visible on myself.

So What is “Eating Clean”?

Eating Clean just means eating foods that are not processed and have as little interference as possible from being out in nature to being on your plate.

In some cases this is difficult because busy schedules make it feel more convenient to buy things rather than prepare them ourselves.  If you haven’t cooked it yourself, it definitely falls into the un-clean category.  This isn’t an issue in my house.  So I have to look at processed and manipulated ingredients.

– I will completely get rid of: white flour/pasta/rice/grains, refined/caster/icing/brown sugar, processed honey, any form of candy or chocolate, any snack that I do not make myself (goodbye poor tortilla chips), and basically anything that is not a “raw ingredient”

– I will still eat the following minimally-handled/ processed goods (namely because I cannot get the any other way: whole-wheat, organic grains (oatmeal, rice, quinoa, etc), organic lean meats (because I don’t want to pluck my own chicken, honestly), hormone-free dairy and minimally-processed dairy substitutes (because I don’t have a cow to milk on hand), oils (because I don’t have a press or the patience), raw honey (I don’t like bees).

What do I expect?

Honestly, I expect that between the exercise and eating clean he will continue to lose weight as he has done, but it will be boosted by a pound or two a week.  The big question mark is me – I eat, as you may have noticed, a lot of sweets.  Eating Clean means no refined sugar and no processed flour which means my baking is going to take a serious dive for a month.  And more importantly, I will drastically reduce my sugar intake.  I have no idea what to expect from that. I am already a healthy weight and BMI and neither fluctuate much (or at least it hasn’t since I was 19).  Maybe nothing will change. Clean eating is not like going sugar-free; I fully intend to continue eating fruits (which have plenty of natural sugars in them) and clean eating allows for some natural syrups.  That being said  it will be a very large change for me in terms of cravings and my mood… good luck husband!

So  here is breakfast Day 1:

Apple-Cinnamon-Oatmeal

Clean Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup Organic unprocessed oats
  • 1/2 granny smith apple
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (for other clean eating dairy options visit  The Gracious Pantry)
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Combine all on a stove top and cook for 5-8 minutes on low

OR

Combine all and put in the fridge overnight (this softens the apple) and microwave on HIGH for 2-3 minutes

Leave a Reply

