Honey Margarita

Honey-Margarita

You already know that I love a margarita. That is entirely my mom’s fault.  But I have found it hard to get the sweet-salt-sour balance right when I make it at home.  I have used simple syrup to sweeten my margaritas, but honey makes an easier low-maintenance sweetener and if you get the amount right it adds a little extra flavour to the margarita.

So I tried out a honey margarita.  The first time I did it there was not enough honey so the flavour was lost.  Then I made it too sweet… the thing is, I really love sour things. My secret embarrassing behaviour is that I eat salted lemon wedges for dessert sometimes. (Yes, my husband knows and has decided to overlook that).  I finally think I have the ideal balance for a honey margarita anyone would like.

 So, Happy Friday, and why don’t you join me in a drink?

Honey Margarita

  • 3 oz tequila
  • 2 oz fresh lime juice
  • 1 oz Orange Liquer (like Cointreau)
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • Salt for the rims

Pour some salt in a small plate so that it is evenly spread out

Squeeze your limes for the lime juice

Using one of the left-over lime halves, rub the rim of a glass. This will leave behind something for the salt to stick to

rotate the rim of the glass in the salt so it sticks

Mix all ingredients together with a small spoon (the acid of limes will dissolve the honey)

I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

