Extra-Thick Double Vanilla Cheesecake

Double-Vanilla-CheesecakeToday is my husband’s birthday and I always make a very big deal out of birthdays.  One thing I insist on is making a cake, but he doesn’t have much of a sweet tooth. He does, however like vanilla cheesecake, and so I always make it for him.

The first year we were together I made an accidental version of this cake. It was like a fantasy cake, it was so dense and creamy but also had the most incredible vanilla flavour.  It was really intense.  Of course, I made it basically by accident.  I tried to recreate a recipe from memory and it turned out far better than I could image.  And I din’t write it down :-/  So I have spent the last five years trying to re-make this dream vanilla cheesecake.  And this, to be honest, is the closest I have managed to get.  The dream cheesecake is still out there…

The one thing I know for sure is that I always use a super-secret ingredient for the very best cheesecake crust:  Biscoff cookies.  They are cinnamon and caramel cookies and if you combine them with butter you get the most incredible biscuit base you have ever made.  You can use it in anything.  It’s like a secret weapon.  I hope you love it! And Happy Birthday to my honey!

Extra-Thick Double Vanilla Cheesecake

  • 150g Biscoff Biscuits
  • 75 g butter
  • 750 g full-fat cream cheese
  • 150 g icing sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100 ml whipping cream

Crush up the Biscoff cookies into crumbs (I put them in a plastic bag and bash them against the counter)

Melt 75g butter and mix in with the cookie crumbs until combined

press cookies into the bottom of an 8″ cake pan and put in the fridge for about 30 minutes

In a large bowl whisk cream cheese, icing sugar, and vanilla bean paste until smooth

In a sperate bowl slightly whip the whipping cream with vanilla extract

Fold whipped cream into the cream-cheese mixture gently

pour onto cooled biscuit base

Place in the fridge for at least 4 hours, better if overnight.

Try to save a piece for yourself 🙂

One thought on “Extra-Thick Double Vanilla Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

