Slow-Cooker Mustard Mashed Potatoes

Whole tonight is the Pro-Bowl back home, here in the UK it is Burn’s Night! It is a Scottish holiday celebrating the life of poet Robert Burns, and like any good holiday, comes with a fantastic meal. It tends to be traditional Scottish fare, including Haggis with “Neeps and Tatties” or Trunips and Potatoes.

Mashed potatoes are great, and discovering they can be done in the crock pot was a nice moment for me, when I was cooking a Thanksgiving meal for twelve and did not have much time. But just plain potatoes are a bit boring, and especially next to the richness of haggis. So I make my garlic and mustard mashed potatoes. I have to admit, the mustard was my husband’s idea.

See, here in England mustard is not normal mustard. I love American mustard, Dijon, whole grain mustard. But English mustard is basically, as far as I can tell, mustard+horseradish.  Some may love that, but I did not realise the difference when I covered a sausage with mustard and on the first bite my eyes watered! I was not amused, and avoided the stuff.

But then I met my husband who loved it, and I had to learn how to use it (in moderation) to make things taste better, rather than like a horse was kicking you in the teeth.  The good news is, these mashed potatoes are AMAZING (even I, the English mustard hater, think so). And garlic has a magical ability to ease some of the English mustard’s kick.

Mustard Mashed Potatoes

Slow Cooker Mustard Mashed Potatoes (Serves 4)

  • Four large potatoes (I like skin-on because it adds texture, flavour and nutrients, but it is your call)
  • 2 tbsp salted butter
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 tsp English Mustard

Cut the potatoes into quarters

Put all of the ingredients except milk into a slow cooker on low for 4-5 hours

Add milk and mash with a fork or masher

Serve with something yummy

Its that easy! If you are averse to English mustard, it is also nice with Dijon, just put a bit more in.

Let me know if you tried it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

