Mum’s Pizza Fondue

One of the most precious things I have kept is my mother’s hand-written recipes.  I take them out to look at her handwriting and to laugh and the fact that some of them are covered in grease and spills because we used them so often (or the recipe was so messy!).

I still love to cook from her recipes, and one of my favourites is Pizza Fondue.  It is one of the first of her recipes I made with my husband.  I love fondue, cheesy fondue, chocolate fondue, even fondue oils.  So why not make everything fondue!?  I think my mum thought the exact same thing, because she invented pizza fondue for us kids.  I personally can always find something to add to melted cheese.  Last Valentine’s Day I received a little  fondue set to finally make my obsession complete.  Until then, I was happily making my mother’s pizza fondue in a saucepan and swaddling it in oven mitts so it wouldn’t get cold!

So here is one of my favourite recipes from my mother: Pizza fondue.

My mum's original recipe for Pizza Fondue
My mum’s original recipe for Pizza Fondue

I’ve induced a scan of the actual recipe my mum wrote down.  Making pizza fondue is part of when I go into my mother’s old recipe binder.  Her handwriting makes me so happy and I just run my hands over the page and feel all the little bumps and grease.  I must sound crazy, but it helps when I miss her.

As you can see I have a tweaked her recipe (sorry Mum!)  by increasing the cheese to sauce ratio (which is always good), and changing up the herbs, garlic and onion. I think it makes for a little bit more of the pizza-y flavour, and a little less tomato-y; but please feel free to use her original Pizza fondue recipe.  I think she’d love that.

Pizza-Fondue

Pizza Fondue: Serves 4

  • 2 15 oz cans of pasta (tomato sauce)
  • 8 oz mozzarella, shredded
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 2 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped.
  • loaf of bread (for dipping) cut into 1 inch chunks

One the hob over low heat, heat all the ingredients except the bread until cheese is melted and the sauce is hot (but not boiling)

Place on a fondue stand or (like i did for far too long into my adult life) swaddle in oven mitts to keep warm

Eat with lovely bread.

I hope you like my mother’s pizza fondue, it really is something special. So was she.

2 thoughts on “Mum’s Pizza Fondue

Leave a Reply

