Healthy Slow Cooker Peppered Carrot Soup

I love having a Slow Cooker on days when I teach late, because I can come home to  a lovely smelling and healthy dinner without all the hard work.   This soup does require a little blitz with a hand-mixer, but it is nice as a chunky soup as well.

Usually carrot isn’t an exciting food, and my husband was very suspicious. But carrot is great in spicy dishes, so I add a bit of pepper and tobacco to make it healthy and something special.

DSC_0004           Peppered Carrot Soup

Serves 4

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 carrots, chopped
  • 3 turnips, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 1/3 cups of vegetable or chicken stock (I used stock I froze)
  • 1 tbsp sage
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 2 tbsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp tabasco (or more to your taste)

Put everything in the Slow Cooker and Cook on Low for 6-8 hours.

Blitz with a hand mixer to make it a smooth soup.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

