Beginners Chicken Stock

One of the first things I learned was how to make chicken stock, it was such a relief that you could just toss a bunch of ingredients in water and it would come out tasting lovely.  It really built my confidence, and I now can use it for so many different things. I usually make a full batch and then freeze it in usable amounts in some tupperware.

There are two things I think make a huge difference to stock:

1. Use raw ingredients.

You absolutely can use a cooked chicken, but I have found that the stock I make with raw chicken is much nicer.

2. You can change stock a lot with different herbs and spices.  I once made this with some paprika and cayenne and it was really lovely.

I’ve made this recipe the very beginner one that I first did, and while it takes a while to become stock, if I could do it ANYONE can!

About 3 hours in
About 3 hours in

Beginners Chicken Stock

Makes 2-3 servings, Takes 4.5 hours

  • One (raw) chicken carcass roughly 2kg (4.5 lbs)
  •  2 carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 2 celery stalks ( Now I don’t include this in mine because my husband hates them, but it always turns out fine)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • bunch of fresh thyme
  • 2 tbsp sage
  • 2 tbsp oregano
  • approximately 4 litres (1 gallon) of cold water.

Chop all the vegetables and garlic roughly

Put everything into a large, thick bottomed pot, vegetables first

Fill with water (should be 3/4 full)

Cover and put hob on high and when it reaches a boil

Once boiling, turn the hob to low and uncover. Let boil for 4 hours.  If you have time, you can leave it longer, but it will be nice and yummy by then.

Enjoy! 🙂

If you chose to freeze it, I freeze it in small tupperware for about a month.

Leave a Reply

