My Favourite Chicken Teriyaki

Teriyaki-Chicken

This is a staple that I rotate through for dinner, especially because it is my husband’s favourite.  At a friend’s bridal shower we learned how to make proper teriyaki with sake and by beating the sauce on a stove before adding it to the chicken.

But I’m not a chef … So I have adapted the traditional recipe to be very flavourful and still delicious, but much faster and easier to make.

The scariest bit for me was leaving the pan to bubble up – I don’t know why but I have always found the sensation of looking over at bubbly frying pan slightly intimidating. But trust yourself, it will turn out delicious!

Serves Four, Marinade time: up to one hour

 Chicken Teriyaki 

  • 6 Boneless Chicken Thighs
  • 1/2 cup dark soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup Rice Wine Vinegar
  • (optional fancy ingredient) 3 tbsp sake

Combine all of the liquid ingredients

Add in the boneless thighs, and let marinade for up to an hour.

Heat a frying pan on medium – mine only holds three at a time so I cooked it in batches – without any oil.

Add thighs and sauce to the pan (my pan only holds three at a time so I cooked it in two batches with roughly half the sauce each batch)

Cook on medium for ten minutes, flipping about half way through. By now the sauce should be thick and bubbly

Turn Hob to lowest setting and continue to cook as sauce thickens.

Tilt the pan and use a spoon to pour some of the sauce over the chicken to coat.

Take off the heat when the sauce is thick as molasses – in my case it was a further five minutes.

Teriyaki-Chicken-Dinner

I recommend eating with broccoli or rice.  🙂

One thought on “My Favourite Chicken Teriyaki

Leave a Reply

